Is your company already VCA 2017/6.0-certified?

By now, you are well aware that the new version of VCA is a fact. It will take a while, however, before it will actually be in use. As a result, there is a transition regime.

This transition regime looks like this: No later than three years and six months after publication, i.e. on 2 October 2021, all certificates must be based on VCA 2017/6.0.

VCA 2017/6.0 has replaced the previous version, 2008/5.1. The new checklist was published on 2 April 2018, and it describes the new requirements that companies must fulfil. Ultimately, all VCA-certified companies will be affected by the new version. There are 5 major changes in this new version:


  1. Back to basics
    Safety plays an even more central role. By removing redundant requirements and by formulating the remaining requirements more precisely, the actual number of requirements has been reduced. Compared to the previous version, there is less focus on the environment.
  2. Workplace
    The parts of the VCA related to the workplace are more detailed. These parts are now more relevant and fitting to the safety practices of today. There is also more time for workplace audits.
  3. Behaviour
    Every company is different. What works at one to promote safe behaviour does not (yet) work at the other. The field of behaviour influence is rapidly developing and evolving, and organizations must be given the opportunity to respond to these developments. That is why there is much more leeway for customization. The observation program from the previous version of the VCA has been replaced by a programme for HSE awareness and behaviour.
  4. Greater clarity and reliability
    By including more ‘must-do’ questions for the VCA* certification level, the reliability of the parties at the start of the chain is increased. Concerned parties (usually VCA** and VCA Petrochemical companies) must also check their subcontractors on more points than is currently the case.
  5. VCA and other countries
    With the arrival of VCA 2017/6.0, there is one regime for the Netherlands and Belgium. The new version has been designed so that other countries can use it easily, with a clearly stated minimum level for what precisely they must regulate.